CELEBRATION

Markus Stockhausen Group featuring Tamara Lukasheva, Rabih Lahoud, Nguyên Lê, Mateusz Smoczynski, Levan Andria and Bodek Janke.

“Celebration” a celebration of life, music and friendship between our quartet and wonderful guest musicians from around the world! While I composed music for each of these soloists, I also invited them to improvise freely with us. The result is a colourful palette of very different music. Celebrating in these times when the world is facing so many challenges? Yes, absolutely! With music. That is our modest contribution to reconciliation in the world.

The Group

Markus Stockhausen Flügelhorn/Tp
Jeroen van Vliet Piano, Synthesizer
Jörg Brinkmann Cello
Christian Thomé Drums

Guest soloists

Rabih Lahoud – what a wonderful, expressive voice! Since embarking on our “Eternal Voyage” together in 2008, we have become good friends. Today Rabih is one of the finest singers in Germany and beyond. (Salam)

Levan Andria – is a young cellist who stood in superbly for Jörg Brinkmann at several of our concerts, bringing his own style of playing to our music. This gave me the idea of bringing together Levan and Jörg, and it worked wonderfully! In the free improvisation “Spiegelung” they mirror one another, throwing musical balls back and forth between them.

Tamara Lukasheva – what impressive vocal control, agility, intonation and timing she possesses. Seamlessly adapting to the sound of our group, she made our music shine. It was marvellous to experience. Equally impressive is her desire to strive for the highest musical standards. (Gentle – Seeing the Light, Falling Stars)

Nguyên Lê – a master of the electric guitar. I have admired him since the mid-90s and played with him in Dhafer Youssef’s group (notably on the legendary album “Malak”), and in my “Possible Worlds Orchestra”. In “Celebration”, one can hear the joy of our reunion. Nguyên takes us into new realms, and leads us into intense, adventurous sound spaces. (Savanne, Hallelujah, Dancing on Clouds)

Bodek Janke – is a magnificent tablaable player, subtle, strong and full of virtuosity (Salam, Abstract Lines). His complex and driving drumming comes alive particularly in the interplay with Christian in all the pieces with Nguyên (Savanne, Hallelujah, Dancing on Clouds). Christian and Bodek played together previously on “Wild Life”, so this felt like a friendly continuation of and musical expansion on earlier themes.

Mateusz Smoczynski – we met at a festival in Belgrade and got to know each other on the subsequent flight, exchanging our CDs. Impressed by his incredible violin playing, I wanted to play with him as soon as possible. He masters the most complicated passages seemingly effortlessly, is adept in all styles while also remaining imaginative and free. (Revolution, Abstract Lines)

CD Cover: Celebration – Markus Stockhausen Group (2024)

Celebration
Release date: 5 April 2024
o-tone music

Markus Stockhausen
Flugelhorn/Tp
Jeroen van Vliet
Piano, Synthesizer
Jörg Brinkmann
Cello
Christian Thomé
Drums

featuring:
Tamara Lukasheva
voc
Rabih Lahoud
voc
Nguyên Lê
e-Guitar
Mateusz Smoczynski
Violin
Levan Andria
Cell
Bodek Janke
Tabla, Percussion

CD 1
01. REVOLUTION 6:49
02. GENTLESEEING THE LIGHT 7:25
03. LITTLE DREAM 7:29
04. HALLELUJAH 8:02
05. SALAM 9:27
06. AHNUNG DUO 3:22
07. KARUSELL 09:46
08. TALKING 6:52
09. SAVANNE 9:22

Total time: 68:55

CD 2
01. DANCING ON CLOUDS 7:09
02. FALLING STARS 10:13
03. ABSTRACT LINES 8:57
04. TAKE OFF 4:30
05. NGUYÊN 11:07
06. TEMPUS PERFECTUM 9:09
07. CHILD SONG 6:42
08. SPIEGELUNG 7:37
09. YOU NEVER KNOW 6:28

Total time: 72:03

Available here or at spotify etc.



  • Markus Stockhausen Group – Celebration Trailer

Concerts

CELEBRATION

Markus Stockhausen Group featuring Tamara Lukasheva, Rabih Lahoud, Nguyên Lê, Mateusz Smoczynski, Levan Andria und Bodek Janke.

Wir feiern das Leben, die Musik, die Freundschaft unseres Quartetts mit wunderbaren Gastmusikern aus vielen Ländern! Für jeden Solisten komponierte ich Musik, aber ich lud sie auch ein mit uns frei zu improvisieren. Auf diese Weise entstand eine bunte Palette von ganz verschiedener Musik. Feiern, in unserer Zeit mit so vielen Herausforderungen in der Welt? Ja, unbedingt! Mit Musik. Das ist unser bescheidener Beitrag zur Versöhnung in der Welt.

Die Gruppe

Markus Stockhausen Flügelhorn/Tp
Jeroen van Vliet Piano, Synthesizer
Jörg Brinkmann Cello
Christian Thomé Drums

Solisten

Rabih Lahoud – welch wunderbare, ausdrucksstarke Stimme! Seit wir im Jahre 2008 gemeinsam auf die „Eternal Voyage“ (unvergängliche Reise) gingen, sind wir gute Freunde geworden. Rabih ist heute einer der ganz großen Sänger in Deutschland und darüber hinaus. (Salam)

Levan Andria – der junge Cellist vertrat Jörg Brinkmann bei einigen Konzerten bravourös, mit seiner ganz eigenen Spielweise. Es war mir ein Anliegen die beiden zusammenzubringen, und es gelang wunderbar! In der freien Improvisation „Spiegelung“ werfen sie sich die musikalischen Bälle vielfältig zu.

Tamara Lukasheva – über was für eine beeindruckende Stimmbeherrschung, Agilität, Intonationssicherheit und Timing sie verfügt. Sie passte sich nahtlos dem Klang unserer Gruppe an, verlieh uns einen besonderen Glanz. Beeindruckend war ihr hoher musikalischer Anspruch im Studio. (Gentle – Seeing the Light, Falling Stars)

Nguyên Lê – Meister der E-Gitarre. Seit Mitte der 90-iger Jahre bewundere ich ihn und spielte damals mit ihm in der Gruppe von Dhafer Youssef (zu hören auf dem legendären Album „Malak“), oder in meinem „Possible Worlds Orchestra“. Hier wird die Freude unseres Wiedersehens hörbar. Nguyên treibt unsere Gruppe in neue Gefilde und schenkt uns intensive, abenteuerliche Klangräume. (Savanne, Hallelujah, Dancing on Clouds)

Bodek Janke – mit seinem grandiosen Tablaspiel, subtil, stark, hoch virtuos (Salam, Abstract Lines). Dazu sein komplexes und antreibendes Schlagzeugspiel, das sich besonders im Zusammenspiel mit Christian in den Stücken mit Nguyên entfalten konnte (Savanne, Hallelujah, Dancing on Clouds). Christian und Bodek begegneten sich bereits bei „Wild Life“, und so war es nun wie eine freundschaftliche Fortsetzung und musikalische Erweiterung.

Mateusz Smoczynski – wir trafen uns bei einem Festival in Belgrad. Auf der anschließenden gemeinsamen Flugreise lernten wir uns kennen und tauschten unsere CD’s aus. Beeindruckt von seinem unglaublichen Geigenspiel, entstand der starke Wunsch bei mir, sobald wie möglich mit ihm zu spielen. Scheinbar mühelos bewältigt er komplizierteste Passagen, ist sicher in allem, dazu einfallsreich und frei. (Revolution, Abstract Lines)

CD Cover: Celebration – Markus Stockhausen Group (2024)

Celebration
Veröffentlicht: 05.04.2024
o-tone music

Markus Stockhausen
Flügelhorn/Tp
Jeroen van Vliet
Piano, Synthesizer
Jörg Brinkmann
Cello
Christian Thomé
Drums

featuring:
Tamara Lukasheva
voc
Rabih Lahoud
voc
Nguyên Lê
e-Gitarre
Mateusz Smoczynski
Violine
Levan Andria
Cello
Bodek Janke
Tabla, Perkussion

CD 1
01. REVOLUTION 6:49
02. GENTLESEEING THE LIGHT 7:25
03. LITTLE DREAM 7:29
04. HALLELUJAH 8:02
05. SALAM 9:27
06. AHNUNG DUO 3:22
07. KARUSELL 09:46
08. TALKING 6:52
09. SAVANNE 9:22

Total time: 68:55

CD 2
01. DANCING ON CLOUDS 7:09
02. FALLING STARS 10:13
03. ABSTRACT LINES 8:57
04. TAKE OFF 4:30
05. NGUYÊN 11:07
06. TEMPUS PERFECTUM 9:09
07. CHILD SONG 6:42
08. SPIEGELUNG 7:37
09. YOU NEVER KNOW 6:28

Total time: 72:03

Erhältlich, im Handel, hier oder bei Spotify etc.



  • Markus Stockhausen Group – Celebration Trailer

Konzerte