Your viewport: Music Discography 2016 - Alba

Alba

Released 2016 | with Florian Weber and Markus Stockhausen

Alba is the premiere recording of trumpeter Markus Stockhausen’s duo with pianist Florian Weber, a formation in existence for some six years now. Though very different in their connections to the language of jazz, both musicians share a deep interest in the process of creative expression: of looking inwards and outwards with intensity at things, for echoes, resonances, insights.

ALBA release concerts 2016

with Markus Stockhausen and Florian Weber, duo INSIDE OUT

28.4. Mönchengladbach, TIG – Theater im Gründungshaus
30.4. Budapest, Budapest Music Center
5.5. Ankara, Jazz Festival, Turkey
19.5. Agathenburg, Schloss Agathenburg
20.5. Hannover Jazzclub
21.5. Lüdinghausen, Burg Vishering
31.5. Manchester, UK, Royal College of Music
16.7. Düsseldorf Asphalt Festival
3.11. Sarajewo Jazz Festival, Bosnia Herzegowina
9.11. Madrid, Spain
13.11. Saarbrücken
16.11. Kronstadt, Rumania

Reviews:

What a duo! What harmony! The pianist Florian Weber and the trumpeter Markus Stockhausen make music with one heart and one soul. Their duets are not simply a meeting but rather the fruit of a deeply-rooted and tender common experience; their melodies, their rhythms, their phrasing are so closely intertwined that they seem to spring from one source. Even though passages have clearly been worked through meticulously and to the last detail, the listener has the impression that each one of the 15 titles is as fresh and vital as an improvisation. As perfect as the interaction of the musicians together, is also the transparent, crystalline sound of their instruments. Weightless and free are the thoughts of this duo: a musical dream voyage full of happiness, awareness and tenderness. Werner Stiefele, Audio 05/16

Love can be expressed through various means: with a glance, with a kiss – or a melody. Pianist Florian Weber has placed so much tenderness and affection for his son in the composition “Emilio” that the listener is intensively moved. But also in the other pieces Weber and his partner Markus Stockhausen (flugelhorn and trumpet) create powerful panoramas of feeling. Their album “Alba” appears alternatively fragile and then wildly energetic – but always authentic and clear. These two musicians trust each other blindly. Audible in every beat. Stern, 04/16

Exploration of sound and silence, the dialogue of equal partners and the creation of magical moments through intuitive collaboration, that’s what this chamber-jazz is all about. But regardless of whether more contemplative or light in its mood, what the music exudes is peace and a considerable artistic and sound clarity. Here two kindred spirits have, without doubt, found each other. Bernhard Klostermann, Fono Forum 06/16

Released:
2016

Artists:
Florian Weber p
Markus Stockhausen tp,flh

Tracks:
1. What can I do for you? 4.52
2. Mondtraum 5.10
3. Surfboard 2.31
4. Ishta 4.43
5. Emergenzen 5.45
6. Barycenter 1.00
7. Emilio 5.40
8. Possibility I 1.50
9. Befreiung 4.54
10. Resonances 2.08
11. Die weise Zauberin 5.07
12. Synergy Melody 5.07
13. Better World 5.15
14. Zephir 6.25
15. Today 1.17

Label
ECM 2477
CD 6025 4759358 0

Buy:
good record stores and online



Alba

Inside Out - Markus Stockhausen & Florian Weber Alba is the premiere recording of trumpeter Markus Stockhausen’s duo with pianist Florian Weber, a formation in existence for some six years now. Though very different in their connections to the language of jazz, both musicians share a deep interest in the process of creative expression: of looking inwards and outwards with intensity at things, for echoes, resonances, insights.
The dramatic arc and palette of the duo’s music is wide, from the joyous melodic roll of “Befreiung” (Liberation) and refracted optimism of “Better World”, to the chill sobriety of “Die weise Zauberin” (The Wise Witch) and the intriguingly reflective cast of “Emilio” (written for Florian’s son). At times, for the listener at least, lines blur imperceptibly between composition and improvisation. In limpid settings, subtly shifting contrasts of mood and feeling mark the music.
Stockhausen and Weber developed their musical rapport inside Markus’s six-piece world music ensemble Eternal Voyage. Duo concerts followed, one in their hometown of Cologne and a mini-tour in and around Munich. At first, all the material was written by Stockhausen but as the relationship grew, Weber brought in tunes and then began writing expressly for the duo.
Initially, the duo experimented with electronics also to create the kind of “opening sounds” that have attracted Stockhausen since he first played with Rainer Brüninghaus’s trio in the early 1980s, as on the ECM album Continuum. Stockhausen says his subsequent Aparis project, with brother Simon and drummer Jo Thönes, sought to further the Continuum experience (yielding ECM releases Aparis in 1990 and Despite the Firefighters’ Efforts, 1993). But with Weber, the realization soon came that the duo sounded stronger playing acoustically. “Florian has this incredible touch and possibilities to modulate the sound of the piano. There were so many colours available”.
On “What Can I Do For You?,” an unconventional CD opener, Weber draws the listener into an aural tapestry, strumming and drumming on the strings of the piano, a weaver’s shuttle unspooling the sound, before Markus’ plangent entry on muted trumpet. The tune is named in honour of the late John Taylor, Florian’s first piano teacher. “‘What can I do for you?’ was always the first question he asked when I came to a lesson, which I realized meant: ‘I don’t have anything to say, except in combination with whatever you would like to do’. And that’s how I experienced John. His genius playing with Kenny Wheeler – and Kenny also played this way – was that there is no ego. It was always about something other than themselves. Well, I have a feeling that when we play there’s no ego either.”
Two compositions on Alba come from recent commissions of Stockhausen: the melody of “Mondtraum” from Olivers Abenteuer, a song cycle for nine-piece children’s orchestra and choir and “Synergy Melody” from an ensemble piece for otherwise improvising musicians queued by hand signals from the conductor/composer. “Zephyr” was previously recorded on a more classical basis with Dutch clarinetist Tara Bouman and is largely repurposed here, to beautiful, room-filling effect.
With “Emergenzen” a complex melody based on a polyrythm, Weber had an image of sand on a beach in his mind’s eye “with its structures and (notions of) how those structures are created”. By tiny urgencies, “by minimal fluctuations” he says, caused by the movement of wind and water. “Out of these minimal fluctuations something bigger starts to develop which then creates the structures … “
“Surfboard” was entirely improvised in the studio. Stockhausen later chose and overdubbed melodic passages across the brimming, bubbling waters evoked by the tune. For “Resonances”, Stockhausen blew impromptu trumpet notes into the body of the piano and the sonic results hang in the air. The album’s three short piano pieces – “Possibility I”; “Today” and “Barycenter” – were also impromptu performances.
As always, Stockhausen began the first recording session with intuitive improvisation, or “intuitive music”, the term coined in the 60s by his father, the pioneering electronics composer Karlheinz Stockhausen. “Ishta” is the glowing result. Stockhausen says he has sought to further his father’s concept of not using any kind of musical pre-agreement – not a melody, chord or scale – by removing even the word texts Stockhausen senior used around the time of From The Seven Days. “There’s no tune. Nothing. And this is sometimes when things really happen, when you become a channel of something.
Florian Weber makes his ECM debut with Alba. A German Jazz Critics prize winner who played with Albert Mangelsdorff, his Minsarah trio became a Lee Konitz rhythm section resulting in three CDs with the great altoist. Alba is Markus Stockausen’s first ECM recording since Karta was released in 2000. Previously, he recorded Cosi Lontano…Quasi Dentro alongside Gary Peacock and appeared on Ralph Towner’s City of Eyes (both 1989). Continuum drew him widespread critical attention at 26, the album winning the 1984 German Record Critics’ Prize. For ECM New Series, he recorded his father’s Michaels Reise, a trumpet concerto in all but name, released in 1992. (Text: ECM)


Seminars

Alba

Veröffentlicht 2016 | mit Florian Weber und Markus Stockhausen

Alba ist das erste Album des seit sechs Jahren bestehenden Duos von Trompeter Markus Stockhausen und Pianist Florian Weber. Obwohl sich beide dem Idiom des Jazz aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen genähert haben, eint die Musiker ein tiefes Interesse am Prozess des kreativen Ausdrucks, der intensiven Suche, innen wie außen, nach Echos, Nachklängen, Einsichten.

ALBA release Konzerte

mit Markus Stockhausen und Florian Weber, Duo INSIDE OUT

28.4. Mönchengladbach, TIG – Theater im Gründungshaus
30.4. Budapest, Budapest Music Center
5.5. Ankara, Jazz Festival
19.5. Agathenburg, Schloss Agathenburg
20.5. Hannover Jazzclub
21.5. Lüdinghausen, Burg Vishering
31.5. Manchester, UK, Royal College of Music
16.7. Düsseldorf Asphalt Festival
3.11. Sarajewo Jazz Fest

Kritiken:

Was für ein Duo! Was für eine Harmonie! Der Pianist Florian Weber und der Trompeter Markus Stockhausen musizieren aus einem Herzen und einer Seele. Ihre Duette sind keine Begegnungen, sondern Frucht einer tiefen, gewachsenen, behutsamen Gemeinsamkeit, wobei sich ihre Melodien, ihre Rhytmen, ihre Phrasierungen so eng aufeinander beziehen, als stammten sie aus einer Quelle. Sie wirken – trotz erkennbar bis in Details ausgearbeiteter Passagen – so frisch, als sei jeder der 15 Titel einfach so improvisiert. So perfekt wie das Zusammenspiel ist auch der transparent, kristalline Klang der Instrumente Leicht und frei schweben die Gedanken dieses Duos: eine musikalische Traumreise voll Glück, Spannung und Zärtlichkeit. Werner Stiefele, Audio 05/16

Liebe läßt sich auf unterschiedlichste Art und Weise ausdrücken. Durch einen Blick, einen Kuss – oder eine Melodie. Pianist Florian Weber hat in die Kompostion „Emilio” für seinen Sohn so viel Zärtlichkeit und Nähe gelegt, dass man beim Hören regelrecht ergriffen ist. Auch in den übrigen Stücken entwirft Weber mit seinem Partner Markus Stockhausen (Flügelhorn und Trompete) große Gefühlspanoramen. Ihr Album „Alba” wirkt mal zerbrechlich, mal voller wilder Energie, immer aber vollkommen unverfälscht und klar. Diese beiden Musiker vertrauen sich blind. Hört man in jeder Sekunde. stern, 04/16

Erkundung von Klang und Stille, gleichberechtigter Dialog und die Schaffung von magischen Augenblicken durch intuitives Zusammenspiel, davon handelt dieser intime Kammerjazz. … Doch ob eher kontemplativ oder leicht gestimmt – was die Musik vor allem ausstrahlt, ist eine große Ruhe sowie klangliche und künstlerische Klarheit. Hier haben sich ganz ohne Zweifel zwei Gleichgesinnte gefunden. Bernhard Klostermann, Fono Forum 06/16

Man kann die 15 Stücke ihres Albuns wie eine durchgehende Suite hören und verstehen, wie 15 miteinander vereinte Plädoyers für Klarheit und Reinheit in der Musik, für die vielen Facetten und Tempi der unverstellten Schönheit. Auch wenn manche Komposition den Anschein des Verträumten hat, verlieren sich die beiden sensiblen Akteure nie, driften nicht ab, sondern bleiben konzentriert bei der Sache. Ihr manchmal mit neuromantischen Tonfall geführter inniger musikalischer Dialog überschreitet nie die Grenze zum Kitsch. Schönheit bleibt hier keine Oberfläche. SWP, Jazzthing 05/16

Veröffentlicht:
2016

Künstler:
Florian Weber
Piano
Markus Stockhausen
Flügelhorn, Trompete

Tracks:
1. What can I do for you? 4.52
2. Mondtraum 5.10
3. Surfboard 2.31
4. Ishta 4.43
5. Emergenzen 5.45
6. Barycenter 1.00
7. Emilio 5.40
8. Possibility I 1.50
9. Befreiung 4.54
10. Resonances 2.08
11. Die weise Zauberin 5.07
12. Synergy Melody 5.07
13. Better World 5.15
14. Zephir 6.25
15. Today 1.17

Label
ECM 2477

Im Handel erhältlich.



Alba

Inside Out - Markus Stockhausen & Florian Weber Alba ist das erste Album des seit sechs Jahren bestehenden Duos von Trompeter Markus Stockhausen und Pianist Florian Weber. Obwohl sich beide dem Idiom des Jazz aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen genähert haben, eint die Musiker ein tiefes Interesse am Prozess des kreativen Ausdrucks, der intensiven Suche, innen wie außen, nach Echos, Nachklängen, Einsichten.
Der Spannungsbogen ihrer Musik ist breit und reicht von der beschwingt-melodischen Gangart in „Befreiung“ über den gebrochenen Optimismus von „Better World“ bis zur kühlen Nüchternheit von „Die weise Zauberin“ und der fesselnd-introspektiven Stimmung von „Emilio“ (geschrieben für Florians Sohn). Bisweilen scheinen die Grenzen zwischen Komposition und Improvisation zu verschwimmen, fast unmerklich sich verändernde atmosphärische Kontraste prägen die von großer Klarheit getragene Musik.
Ihren musikalischen Rapport entwickelten Stockhausen und Weber in Markus’ sechsköpfigem Weltmusik-Ensemble Eternal Voyage. Es folgten Auftritte als Duo in ihrer Heimatstadt Köln und eine Mini-Tournee in und um München. Zunächst wurde das gesamte Material von Stockhausen geschrieben, doch im Laufe der Zusammenarbeit begann auch Weber, eigene Kompositionen beizusteuern.
Anfangs experimentierte das Duo mit elektronischen Klängen, auf der Suche nach den „offenen Sounds“, die Stockhausen seit seiner Zeit in Rainer Brüninghaus’ Trio (mit Schlagzeuger Fredy Studer) Anfang der 80er Jahre faszinieren. Den auf dem Trio-Album Continuum (ECM, 1983) eingeschlagenen Weg ging Stockhausen mit seinem Projekt Aparis (mit Bruder Simon und Schlagzeuger Jo Thönes) konsequent weiter, wie die ECM-Alben Aparis (1990) und Despite the Firefighters’ Efforts (1993) belegen. Im Kontext des Duos wurde jedoch bald deutlich, dass Stockhausen und Weber akustisch einfach besser klangen: „Florian hat dieses ungeheure Gespür und die Möglichkeiten, den Klang des Klaviers zu modulieren. Damit standen so viele Klangfarben zur Verfügung.“
Auf „What Can I Do For You?“, einem ungewöhnlichen Eröffnungsstück, versetzt Weber den Zuhörer in eine ätherisch wirkende Klanglandschaft – er zupft und schlägt die Klaviersaiten, spinnt wie mit dem Weberschiffchen einen musikalischen Faden, der dann von Stockhausens gestopfter Trompete aufgenommen wird. Der Titel des Stücks ist eine Reverenz an den verstorbenen John Taylor, Florians ersten Klavierlehrer: „‚Was kann ich für dich tun?’ war immer seine erste Frage, wenn ich zur Stunde kam. Später wurde mir klar, dass er damit meinte: ‚Ich will dir nichts vorschreiben, ich werde darauf eingehen, was du tun möchtest.’ So habe ich John erlebt. In seinem genialen Zusammenspiel mit Kenny Wheeler ging es nie um Selbstdarstellung, sondern um etwas, das mit dem Ego nichts zu tun hat. Und ich glaube, bei uns ist das auch so.“
Zwei Stücke auf Alba sind Auftragskompositionen aus Stockhausens Feder: Die Melodie von „Mondtraum“ stammt aus „Olivers Abenteuer“, einem Liedzyklus für neunköpfiges Kinderorchester und Chor, und „Synergy Melody“ aus einem Ensemblestück für improvisierende Musiker, die auf Handzeichen des Dirigenten/Komponisten reagieren. „Zephyr“ wurde schon einmal in klassischerer Lesart mit der niederländischen Klarinettistin Tara Bouman aufgenommen und ist hier in einer neuen, wunderbar raumfüllenden Version zu hören.
Bei „Emergenzen“, einer komplexen, auf einem Polyrhythmus basierenden Melodie, dachte Weber an einen Sandstrand, „die Strukturen des Sandes und wie sie zustande kommen“ – durch minimale Einflüsse, „winzige Fluktuationen“, wie er es nennt, die Strömungen von Wind und Wasser, aus denen sich etwas Größeres, strukturell Veränderndes entwickelt.
Als Yin zum Yang von „Synergy Melody“ mit seinen getragenen Harmonien ist „Surfboard“ eine im Studio entstandene Improvisation, über deren schäumende und blubbernde Bewegtheit Stockhausen später ausgewählte melodische Passagen legte. Auf „Resonances“ blies Stockhausen Trompetentöne in den Korpus des Klaviers, deren Widerhall stehenbleibt, und auch die drei kurzen Klavierstücke „Possibility I“, „Today“ und „Barycenter“ sind spontane Schöpfungen.
Die erste Aufnahmesession beginnt bei Stockhausen immer mit improvisierter „intuitiver Musik“, ein Begriff, den sein Vater Karlheinz Stockhausen, Komponist und Pionier der elektronischen Musik, in den 60er Jahren prägte. Auf „Ishta“ führt Stockhausen dessen Konzept, keinerlei melodische oder harmonische Absprachen zu treffen, noch einen Schritt weiter, indem er nicht einmal gesprochene Anweisungen zulässt: „Keine Melodie, gar nichts. Damit öffnet sich Raum für Unerwartetes, für die Möglichkeit, zum Medium für etwas zu werden.“
Florian Weber gibt auf Alba sein ECM-Debüt. Der Gewinner des ECHO Jazz spielte mit Albert Mangelsdorff und begleitete mit seinem Trio Minsarah den großen Altsaxophonisten Lee Konitz auf drei CDs. Alba ist Markus Stockhausens erstes ECM-Album seit Karta (2000). Zuvor war er mit Gary Peacock auf Cosi Lontano…Quasi Dentro und auf Ralph Towners City of Eyes (beide 1989) zu hören. Seine Mitwirkung an Continuum, das 1984 den Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik gewann, brachte dem 26-jährigen Stockhausen erstmals breite Aufmerksamkeit. Für ECM New Series nahm er 1992 Michaels Reise auf, ein – wenn auch nicht so bezeichnetes – Trompetenkonzert seines Vaters. (Text: ECM)


Konzerte