Your viewport: About For trumpeters

FOR TRUMPETERS

I hold seminars entitled “Creative Trumpet Playing”. The emphasis is on interpretation, improvisation, intuitive playing, trumpet technique and breathing technique as well as Yoga and silence exercises; in other words all aspects of the trumpet and the necessary musical, physical and spiritual preparation. The next course will be once again held in Burg Fürsteneck in summer 2016.

You can read about the collaboration with my father in the section “With Karlheinz Stockhausen”. There I have also listed the works that he composed for me.
Other composers have also written works for me, for example “Preisungen” by Hans-Martin Lonquich for trumpet and organ, “Jet Stream” by Peter Eötvös that was premiered with the BBC Symphony Orchestra in London in 2002 or “Other Presences” by Jonathan Harvey for trumpet and live electronic with its premiere at the Cheltenham Music Festival in 2006.

Questions by a young trumpeter:

Markus, how do you become a better musician?
Also, how do you become a better trumpet player?

My answers:

Listen to music that you love, that inspires you. 
Listen with headphones, intensely, so you really absorb the music.
Play with other good musicians, and be in an open position of constant learning.
Read inspiring literature to widen the mind. 

Breath well to play good and release stress while playing. 
Improve your equipment if necessary to match your personal sound and physical constitution, since we all are different.
If possible have two studying sessions per day, one in the morning, one in the afternoon /evening.
Don’t force, but challenge yourself, look for areas of improvement. 
Take a lesson with a good player once in a while.
Dont’play music you don’t like, it may harm your feelings. Avoid stressful situations if possible, so that the music making stays pleasant for you.
Express your deep feelings in the music, and create situations, in which you can do this.

My innovations:

1. Leather belt for six different mutes, developed for performing the compositions of my father Karlheinz Stockhausen, in particular “Michael’s Journey round the World”, composed in 1978 as part of the opera cycle LIGHT.

from left to right seen from the player:
plunger – harmon – wawa – whisper mute – cup – mel-o-wah

PDF with instructions for the mutes to download .

2. A second smaller bell for piccolo trumpet (Schilke P5-4) that is inserted into the 4. Valve and with which the g’’’ is more easily reached. The sound is amazingly good. This I developed for the highest note of the second Brandenburg Concerto by J.S. Bach and can be heard on my recording with the Detmold Chamber Orchestra: New Colours of Piccolo Trumpet (EMI Classics 1993).

3. The ¼-note flugelhorn. I chose an old Beson flugelhorn with a fine sound and had four-valve mechanics made by the company Bauerfeind, at that time still in existence. The fourth valve can be played with the small finger of the right hand. The company Monka in Cologne or to be more exact, the legendary Master Helmich, to whom I owe much gratitude, was responsible for the modification of the flugelhorn.
The reason for building this instrument arose from a suggestion that I made to my father to compose a piece for the flugelhorn. We envisaged something special and so the idea for the modified instrument was born. The result was the composition “Pietà” by Karlheinz Stockhausen, a part of the opera “Tuesday from Light”. There are four versions of the piece: a solo piece, a solo with electronic music, a duo for flugelhorn and soprano and the same version with electronic music. I recorded the duo “Pietà” for flugelhorn and soprano for the CD “Stockhausen spielt Stockhausen” for EMI Classics and also released by Stockhausen-Verlag.

4. The e-flat trumpet with a specially designed valve to lower the trumpet by a fourth. I chose an instrument made by the Bach company (large bore, long bell 239) and commissioned the company Gärtner and Thul in Düren to construct a valve to lower the trumpet by a fourth. This was inserted instead of the short tuning slide and could be controlled using the left index finger. This instrument enabled me to play the premiere of my father’s work “In Friendship” and later to record it for EMI Classics to commemorate his 70th birthday in 1998. “In Friendship” is an extremely demanding piece and was probably one of the most difficult regarding its mental and musical demands on me.

My mouthpieces

one-off production with bending by Norbert Böpple from the JBS-series approx 1982, Warburton backbores no. 10

I have had all my mouthpieces bent. This goes back to when I was about 17 and wanted to hold the trumpet higher in the big band. I thought it was cool. I kept this arrangement later because it appealed to me and I felt I could “speak” better to the audience – especially in the dramatic musical works of my father.
The angle of the bend, which is carried out without heating, can be seen on the photo. For the piccolo trumpet and for the flugelhorn the bend is less pronounced.

Lip-balsam

I was once given this recipe by a pediatrician to treat eczema in the face. I tried it on the lips and was so impressed that I have used it since then on a daily basis. It keeps the lips supple, is not too greasy and helps you play longer as the lips are not put under so much strain. The balsam has no other effect, for example on the muscles of the lips.

Recipe

Extractum Propulis spisum sicatum 1,4 Adeps lanae (lanolin) 6,7 Cetaceum Ersatz (sperm whale oil) 2,1 Cera flava 5,2 Cetyl. Alcohol 3,1 Avocado Öl 4,0 Oleum amygdalarum dolces (sweet almond oil) 15,0 Oleum olivium virgin 18,3 Aqua destillatum 43,6

If your local chemist can’t make the balsam then you can order it by phone from the Burg-Apotheke in Erfstadt-Friesheim, tel 02235 71412. I always order 5 × 10 or 10 × 10 grammes and store the little jars in the freezer. They keep for years. I wish you much success playing the trumpet!

Master Course: Creative Trumpet Playing

A new generation of trumpeters is appearing. For these musicians, the crossing of stilistic borders as well as achieving the best possible expression of their creativity through their instrument is something to be taken for granted. This demands a wide knowledge and ability, a trained ear as well as considerable experience, both in the interpretation of musical literature and in improvisation.

Information about the master course.



Caruso exercises

In January of 1978 I was lucky enough to spend an intensive month with Carmine Caruso in New York. Carmine Caruso was not a trumpeter himself, but through observation and intuition he had developed a system of exercises that helped brass players to achieve more power, higher range and stamina. Numerous trumpeters around the world – myself included – owe him gratitude. In addition to my classical exercises, I practised according to his system for many years nearly everyday for 30-40 minutes. This gave me the condition I needed to play the demanding pieces my father composed for me. Carmine Caruso was in this respect my salvation. My musical posture improved and my range and stamina were consolidated.
As several trumpeters, among them my wonderful teacher Pierre Thibaud in Paris, asked me for information about the Caruso exercises, I summarised the essence of the exercises and called it “The Basic Caruso”. This is the warming-up and training system that can be employed parallel to other studies on a daily basis or every second day without danger. It takes about 25 minutes. I am making a free English download available to all here and wish you much success while training. Please bear in mind that the guiding principle is active breathing and recommend the threefold yoga breathing as described in the legendary book “Sport and Yoga” by Sveljaran Yesudian.
Caruso exercise

Five Pieces for Trumpet and Vibrafone

On invitation by the “International Trumpet Guild” in 2010 I composed the Five Pieces for Trumpet and Vibrafone. I am offering a free download here and would be grateful for feedback and information about any possible performance to music. I wish you enjoyment in playing these five pieces.
Trumpet in Bb
Trumpet in C

Works for trumpet by Karlheinz Stockhausen

www.karlheinzstockhausen.org


Concerts

Ihr Standort: About Für Trompeter

FÜR TROMPETER-INNEN

Unter dem Titel “Kreatives Trompetenspiel” gebe ich Seminare. Da geht es um Interpretation, Improvisation, intuitives Spiel, Trompetentechnik und Atemtechnik, sowie Yoga und Übungen der Stille: alles rund um die Trompete und die zum guten Spiel gehörende musikalische, körperliche und geistige Vorbereitung. Der nächste Kurs wird im Sommer 2016 wieder auf Burg Fürsteneck stattfinden.

Über die Zusammenarbeit mit meinem Vater können Sie in der Rubrik “Mit Karlheinz Stockhausen” nachlesen. Dort habe ich auch die Werke aufgelistet, die er für mich komponierte.
Auch andere Komponisten schrieben für mich Werke, wie “Preisungen” von Hans-Martin Lonquich für Trompete und Orgel 1989, “Jet Stream” von Peter Eötvos, das 2002 in London mit dem BBC Symphony Orchestra uraufgeführt wurde, oder “Other Presences” von Jonathan Harvey für Trompete und live-Elektronik beim Cheltenham Music Festival 2006.

Meine Erfindungen:

1. Dämpfergürtel aus Leder mit sechs verschiedenen Dämpfern, entwickelt für die Werke meines Vaters Karlheinz Stockhausen. Explizt „Michaels reise um die Erde“, komponiert in 1978 als Teil des großen Opernzyklus’ LICHT.

Vom Spieler aus gesehen von links nach rechts:
Plunger – Harmon – Wawa – Flüsterdämpfer – Cup – Mel-o-Wah

PDF mit Erläuterungen der Dämpfer zum Download .

2. Ein 2. kleiner Schallbecher für die Piccolotrompete (Schilke P5-4), der in das 4. Ventil gesteckt wird und ermöglicht, dass man das g’’’ mit viel weniger Mühe spielen kann. Der Klang ist erstaunlich gut. Speziell für den höchsten Ton des 2. Brandenburgischen Konzertes von J.S: Bach entwickelt. Zu hören auf meiner Aufnahme mit dem Detmolder Kammerorchester: New Colours of Piccolo Trumpet (EMI Classics 1993).

3. Das ¼-Ton Flügelhorn. Ich nahm ein altes Beson Flügelhorn mit einem schönen Klang und ließ von der damaligen Firma Bauerfeind eine 4-ventilige Maschine anfertigen. Das 4. Ventil ann mit dem kleinen Finger der rechten Hand gespielt werden. Den Umbau des Flügelhorns übernahm die Firma Monke in Köln, genauer gesagt der legendäre Meister Helmich, dem ich sehr viel zu verdanken habe.
Der Grund für den Bau dieses Instrumentes war die Idee, die ich meinem Vater vorschlug, ein Stück für Flügelhorn zu schreiben. Es sollte etwas Besonderes werden, und so kam die Idee des ¼ Ton Flügelhorns. Das Ergebnis ist die Komposition „Pietà“ von Karlheinz Stockhausen, Teil der Oper „Dienstag aus Licht“. Es gibt das Stück in vier Versionen: Als Solostück, als Solo mit elektronischer Musik, als Duo für Flügelhorn und Sopran, und dieses wiederum mit elektronischer Musik. Das Duo „Pietà“ für Flügelhorn und Sopran nahm ich auf für die CD „Stockhausen spielt Stockhausen“ für EMI Classics, auch erschienen im Stockhausen–Verlag.

4. Eine Eb–Trompete mit Quartventil. Ich nahm eine schön klingende Es-Trompete der Firma Bach (large bore, long bell 239) und ließ von der Firma Gärtner und Thul in Düren ein Quartventil anfertigen, dass anstelle des sonst kurzen Stimmbogens eingesetzt und mit dem linken Zeigefinger bedient werden kann. Mit diesem Instrument gelang es mir, das Werk „In Freundschaft“ meines Vaters uraufzuführen, und später auch aufzunehmen für die CD „Stockhausen spielt Stockhausen“ auf EMI Classics, 1998, zum 70. Geburtstag meines Vaters. „In Freundschaft“ ist ein äußerst kniffliges Stück und war eine der größten trompeterischen und mentalen Herausforderungen für mich.

Meine Mundstücke:

Spezialanfertigungen mit Rand von Norbert Böpple aus der JBS-Serie von ca. 1982

Ich habe alle meine Mundstücke biegen lassen, weil ich als ca.17-jähriger beim Big-Band-Spiel die Trompete höher halten wollte und es cool fand. Später blieb ich dabei, weil es mir gefiel und ich mit der Trompete so besser zum Publikum „sprechen“ konnte, gerade auch bei den musikdramatischen Werken meines Vaters.
Der Winkel der Biegung, die übrigens kalt gemacht wird, ist aus dem Foto ersichtlich. Für die Piccolo-Tp und das Flügelhorn ist die Mundstückbiegung schwächer.

Lippensalbe

Dieses Rezept bekam ich einmal von einem Kinderarzt für Hautexzeme im Gesicht. Ich probierte sie auf den Lippen aus und fand sie super, benutze sie seither täglich. Sie hält die Lippen geschmeidig, ist nicht zu fett, und gibt das Gefühl länger spielen zu können, weil die Haut der Lippen nicht so beansprucht wird. Sie hat aber keine andere Wirkung auf die Lippenmuskulatur o.ä.

Rezeptur

  • Extractum Propulis spisum sicatum 1,4
  • Adeps lanae (Lanolin) 6,7
  • Cetaceum Ersatz (Walrath) 2,1
  • Cera flava 5,2
  • Cetyl. Alkohol 3,1
  • Avocado Öl 4,0
  • Oleum amygdalarum dolces (süßes Mandelöl) 15,0
  • Oleum olivium virgin 18,3
  • Aqua destillatum 43,6

Wer keine Möglichkeit findet sich diese Salbe in seiner lokalen Apotheke anfertigen zu lassen, kann sie bestellen per Telefon in der Burg-Apotheke in Erftstadt-Friesheim, Tel. 02235 71412. Ich bestelle dort immer etwa 5 x oder 10 × 10 Gramm, und tue die kleinen Döschen dann ins Gefrierfach, das hält über Jahre. Ich wünsche viel Erfolg beim Trompete spielen !

Meisterkurs: Kreatives Trompetenspiel

Eine neue Generation von Trompeter-Innen wächst heran, für die es selbstverständlich wird stilistische Grenzen zu überschreiten und ihre Kreativität bestmöglich in ihrem Spiel zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Das verlangt ein umfangreiches Wissen und Können, ein geschultes Gehör und viel Spielerfahrung, sowohl als Interpret wie auch als improvisierender Musiker.
Informationen zum Meisterkurs.

Meine Instrumente

B-Trompeten
Bach large bore, 72* tuning bell Schallbecher
Callichio medium large, mit Bach 72* tuning bell Schallbecher
Yamaha large bore custom made, 72* tuning bell Schallbecher
Olds Recording

C-Trompete
Bach large bore, 239 tuning bell Schallbecher

Es-Trompete
Bach large bore, 239 Schallbecher, Spezialanfertigung mit Quartventil

Flügelhörner
van Laar, R2 custom made
Yamaha 635T leight weight
Besson, umgebautes ¼-Ton Flügelhorn

Piccolotrompete
Schilke P5-4



Caruso Übungen

Ich hatte das Glück, im Januar 1978 einen Monat lang bei Carmine Caruso in New York lernen zu dürfen. Carmine Caruso war selbst kein Trompeter, aber hatte durch Beobachtung und Intuition ein Übungs-System entwickelt, was vielen Blechbläsern zu mehr Kraft, Höhe und Ausdauer verhalf. Zahlreiche Trompeter aus der ganzen Welt sind ihm dankbar. So auch ich. Ich übte sein System viele Jahre lang beinahe täglich für 30-40 Minuten, neben meinen anderen klassischen Übungen. So war ich fit für die äusserst anspruchsvollen Werke, die mein Vater für mich schrieb. Carmine Caruso war sozusagen meine bläserische Rettung. Mein Ansatz stabilisierte sich und meine Höhe und Ausdauer wurden gefestigt.
Da mich viele Trompeter, unter Ihnen auch mein zeitweiliger wunderbarer Lehrer Pierre Thibaud in Paris, um Informationen zu den Caruso-Übungen baten, schrieb ich die Essenz der Übungen auf und nannte sie „The Basic Caruso“. Das ist ein Einspiel- und Trainingssystem, das man gefahrlos neben anderen Studien täglich oder alle zwei Tage üben kann. Es dauert etwa 25 Minuten. Ich biete hier kostenfrei einen Download dieser Übungen für alle an. Viel Freude und Erfolg beim Üben. Der Text ist – leider – nur in englisch, aber dürfte für alle verständlich sein. Bitte beachtet, dass der Kern, das Wesentliche die sehr aktive Atmung ist. Ich verweise auch auf die dreifache Yoga-Atmung, wie sie in dem legendären Buch „Sport und Yoga“ von Sveljaran Yesudian gut beschrieben ist.
Caruso Übungen

Five Pieces for Trumpet and Vibrafone

Auf Einladung der „International Trumpet Guild“ komponierte ich im Jahre 2010 die „Five Pieces for Trumpet and Vibrafone“. Ich biete sie hier frei zum Download an, und freue mich über Feedback und eine Mitteilung etwaiger Aufführungen an music. Viel Vergnügen beim Spiel dieser fünf Stücke.
Trumpet in Bb
Trumpet in C

Werke für Trompete von Karlheinz Stockhausen

www.karlheinzstockhausen.org