Energies involved in improvisation

As musicians we channel energies being brought to expression and these have an effect on us and above all on the audience listening to our music. Our responsibility is therefore considerable.

If one were to divide human qualities into three main aspects they would be

1. the vital (short: gut feeling)
2. the emotional (heart)
3. the mental (head)

ad 1. The vital element includes rhythm, a strong sense of expression, the joy of playing, generally everything that gives music its power, energy and rhythm. It is the material with which the other elements are constructed. Seen in a negative way, the vital can be destructive when it becomes too loud, rough, elementary or trivial. On the positive side the vital element is inspiring, exciting, stimulating and gives strength leading even to the ecstatic.
ad 2. The emotional element encompasses the spectrum from fine to powerful feelings in music all of which can be expressed through rhythm, melody and above all harmony. If the negative qualities predominate then too emotional music becomes kitsch or sentimental. If positive, we are elevated, deeply moved and gladdened. Enormous power can be liberated within us through strong feelings. A beautifully played melody can bring tears to our eyes.
ad 3. In the realm of the mental we find structure and construction inherent in rhythm, melody, harmony and in the relation of the musical parts to each other, the sequence of form and composition even when these come about spontaneously in improvisation. Seen from a negative point of view a piece becomes too constructed, mental, dissonant, intellectual even cool. If the positive aspects predominate is music satisfactory, interesting, accomplished, often surprising and we feel enriched by the novelty and are full of admiration.

In concerto

If all these aspects are in balance, we hardly think about the music. Everything feels correct and we are quickly one with the music and what is central to the piece being played. If the elements are not in harmony, then we begin to speculate about what is not correct, what makes us feel uncomfortable, leaves us cold, what is too drawn out, too shallow, rough, however it is manifested.
Each individual perceives this in a different way. There is, however, something common in the way a feeling of aesthetic beauty comes into being in the majority of listeners.
It is particularly difficult to structure the course of a concert in such a way that the music can increase in intensity up to the end, not only regarding virtuosity and volume but especially in the way the listeners are led through increasingly fine and powerful levels of feeling culminating in spirituality. Finding the necessary balance is not easy.
It can be very hard, after a fulfilling and rewarding concert programme, to play an encore, especially when improvised music is being performed, and everything has already been expressed. The danger is the desire to spontaneously achieve new pinnacles of music expression, possibly through extreme virtuosity or volume and in doing so, one can easily destroy everything achieved in the course of the concert. The finer moments are deleted in such a situation and all that remains is the last potentially coarse impression. Even when the audience is ecstatic in their recognition, this last impression can leave a feeling of emptiness… an unpleasant taste in the mouth. If the music, however, is a success, the audience and musicians alike, go home fulfilled and with new vitality. This is highly gratifying.

As musicians we must be aware of the energies that we are using in expression and in what way we do it. We must become conscious arbiters of these energies and masters of our own.

Conclusion

Gentle stimuli resolve
moderate stimuli strengthen
strong stimuli impede
and intensive stimuli destroy
Hugo Kükelhaus

Life is continual practise
Hugo Kükelhaus




Seminars

Energien beim Improvisieren

Als Musiker sind wir Kanal von Energien, die wir ausdrücken und die etwas bewirken, in uns und vor allem dann im Publikum, das unsere Musik hört. Dementsprechend ist unsere Verantwortung groß.

Teilte man den Menschen in drei große Bereiche ein, so wären das zum Beispiel

1. das Vitale (kurz: Bauchgefühl)
2. das Emotionale (Herzgefühl)
3. das Mentale (Kopf)

ad 1. Zum Vitalen gehören der Rhythmus, die starke Ausdruckskraft, die Spielfreude, ganz allgemein alles, was der Musik Kraft, Energie und Rhythmus gibt, der Stoff, auf dem die anderen Elemente aufbauen, die „Materie“ der Musik sozusagen. Im Negativen kann das Vitale zerstörerisch wirken, wenn die Musik zu laut, zu grob, zu elementar oder banal ist. Im Positiven wirkt das Vitale anregend, erregend, Kraft spendend, bis hin zur Ekstase.
ad 2. Zum Emotionalen gehören alle feinen wie starken Gefühle in der Musik, die über den Rhythmus, die Melodie und vor allem auch in der Harmonie ausgedrückt werden können. Im Negativen kann eine zu emotionale Musik kitschig oder sentimental sein, im Positiven sind wir erhoben, tief berührt und beglückt. Gewaltige Kräfte können durch starke Gefühle in uns ausgelöst werden. Und eine schön gespielte Melodie kann uns zum Weinen bringen.
ad 3. Zum Mentalen gehört alles, was die Struktur und Konstruktion der Musik betrifft, im Rhythmus, in der Melodie, Harmonie und in der ganzen Proportion der Musikteile, der Formverläufe, der Komposition, auch wenn diese in der Improvisation ja spontan ist.
Im Negativen ist eine Musik zu konstruiert, eben zu mental, verkopft, zu dissonant, zu intellektuell, auch kalt manchmal; im Positiven wirkt sie befriedigend, interessant, gelungen, oft überraschend, und wir fühlen uns bereichert durch das Neue und sind voller Bewunderung.

In concerto

Sind all diese Aspekte im Lot, denken wir kaum über die Musik nach, alles fühlt sich richtig an und wir finden schnell den Zugang zur Musik und zu dem, was das Wesen der Musik ausmacht. Sind sie nicht in Harmonie, fangen wir an darüber nachzudenken, was nicht stimmte, wo wir uns unwohl fühlten, was uns kalt ließ, oder was uns zu langatmig war, zu flach oder zu laut, zu grob, wie auch immer.
Jeder empfindet das etwas anders. Aber es gibt doch auch einen gemeinsamen Nenner, der bei der Mehrheit der Hörer zum Beispiel eine Empfindung des Schönen hervorbringt.
Eine besondere Schwierigkeit liegt darin, ein Konzertverlauf so aufzubauen, dass sich die Musik bis zum Schluss zu steigern vermag, nicht nur durch Virtuosität und Lautstärke, sondern besonders durch die Hinführung des Publikums zu immer tieferen Schichten des Empfindens, bis hin zu ganz feinen Gefühlen, die bis ins Spirituelle führen. Da die Balance zu finden ist sehr schwer.
Besonders schwer kann es auch sein, nach einem erfüllten und beglückenden, in sich abgeschlossenen Konzertprogramm noch eine Zugabe zu spielen. Gerade in der Improvisierten Musik, wo manchmal dann wirklich schon alles gesagt wurde, besteht die Gefahr, dass man nicht anders weiß, als zum Schluss noch einmal eine Steigerung zu versuchen, durch extreme Virtuosität und auch Lautstärke, was alles vorher Gesagte zunichte manchen kann. Es löscht das Feine aus, denn zurück bleibt der letzte Eindruck, der, auch wenn das Publikum mitgerissen ist und tobt, doch grob sein kann und oft ein Gefühl einer Leere hinterlässt, einen schalen Geschmack. Wenn es aber gelingt, gehen alle, Musiker wie Publikum, tief ergriffen und beschwingt nach Hause. Das ist am Schönsten.

Der Musiker muss sich bewusst werden, welche Energien er zum Ausdruck bringt und auf welche Weise. Er muss zum bewussten Lenker dieser Kräfte werden, Meister seiner selbst.

Zum Abschluss

Zarte Reize wirken lösend,
mäßige Reize wirken stärkend,
starke Reize wirken hemmend
und überstarke zerstörend.
Hugo Kükelhaus

Leben ist ein fortwährendes Üben
Hugo Kükelhaus




Seminare